May 01, 2024, 04:41:26 PM

News:

another article

Started by skyhook, December 11, 2008, 12:44:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skyhook

December 11, 2008, 12:44:15 PM Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 02:35:31 PM by skyhook
I'm the Al Taylor that built heads for Cale Yarbourgh, Bill Elliot and Ray Evernham. Never heard of Tk enginering. T+l engine development in Stanfield N.C...Loydd Mcleary is the owner  and KT engine development in Concord N.C...Kenney Trouhtmen is the owner, I've worked for both of them. I have also worked for Keith Dorton, David Vasselnuck  and have done contract work for half a dozen cup teams. I have been building and racing  cars and motorcycles for 40 years. Have set national records won championships with cars, motorcycles, dirt asphalt, snowmobiles, motocross, roadrace etc.

Why do's he want to build a undersquare motor then want to spin it to 7000 rpm? All the head work on the planet won't help that. 4500 fpm is a good number for safe piston speed at 7000 rpm...piston speed is 4958 fpm. A cup motor will run at 4700 fpm at 9000 rpm and all the parts are thrown out after the race. They have a much shorter rod, better alloy pistons, and a plain bearing crank! The roller crank gets real pissed off at 7000 and up. Ok for short bursts, but cylinder fill is so poor at that fpm you junk your parts for nothing. Lets talk about piston speed and cylinder filling. Long stroke=fast piston...poor cylinder fill...short stroke=slow piston, better fill. I would use custom build pistons for this deal...Wiseco uses 4032 alum in their shelf pistons...with this kinda speed 2618 is a must!! 

I have a baseline cnc program.

for this deal I would want to weld the ports and raise the intake. This of course requires a lot of other work!

11 to 1 is about the max you run on pump gas. Unless you can run higher octane.