May 02, 2024, 04:14:05 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

New to shovelheads. oil recommendations

Started by 92banana, December 13, 2008, 09:25:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

92banana

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo176/92banana/eg1.jpg//

Hi. I am new to shovelheads and recently bought a 1977 FLH that I will try to include picture of. The bike is in very nice overall shape. What is the prefered oil for these bikes nowadays? thanks. RL

hotham

Been riding a Shovel for 26 years.  Most will tell you to run 50 weight.  I am not a fan and run 20w50 Rotella.  If it's good enough for semi's , it's good enough for me.  When I lived in a hot climate I used Mobil 1, 15w50.  My .02c 

MMOCGuy

Beautiful ride. I don't blame you for wanting to use the best you can find in it.

I agree with Hotham. When I got my current bike ('78 Shovelhead), it had 50wt. in it and the previous owner swore by running 50wt in the cool weather and 60wt in hot summer (we live in a hot summer climate). I didn't like the idea of running syrup as a lubricant so I immediately switched over to 20w-50 Valvoline. I rode through the summers in temps of over 100degs with no oiling problems and have been using 20w-50 ever since. I have since switched to Valvoline 20w-50 full synthetic and have never looked back. There are also a number of people who agree with Hotham and use Rotella.

The only thing to be aware of is that Shovelheads lubricate based on volume of oil, not pressure. If you put an oil pressure gauge on, you will likely be reading Zero (Or close to it) on the gauge at idle when warm - especially if you run 20w-50 oil. All you need to do is watch the oil pressure light on your dashboard. If the light stays off, you are good to go. If it starts to flicker at an idle, that just means that your idle speed is too low so raise the idle speed a bit.