May 01, 2024, 04:21:09 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

How to remove a STUCK FILL PLUG???

Started by JamLazyAss, December 13, 2008, 01:32:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

I have an old Panhead transmission. The aluminum fill plug is frozen.
I have soaked it for several days in PB Blaster to try to loosen it.
Today I drilled a 5/16" hole thru the center to help relieve it.

I don't have torches.
Any ideas on how to get this sucker out?   :tfhat:
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

scoopfraser

Probably a crazy idea but, occasionally what's worked for me in a situation like that is to try to tighten the plug.  If you can get just a tiny bit of rotation it's often enough to break up the galling.  Might be worth a try...

Sean
----
2000 FXD
Edmonton, Alberta

HroadhogD1

Better left to a machinist unless you really know what you are doing.  He can drill it out to drill size, and tap the threads, but even then he might have to oversize the plug hole.

JBarrettB

Can you get a blow on it? A lot of times if you can just whack it with a hammer the shock will break the threads loose. Worth a try.

JB 
CAUTION: Comments may be sarcastic, clarification available upon request.

FLTRI

Anything like a propane torch or even a hair drier (for a long time) will help expand the aluminum case will help loosen the steel plug.
The best we've experienced is the best we know
Always keep eyes and mind open

Killer

Heat.. Try one of those little torch/ heating thingies they sell at Pepboys or Autozone. Well worth the money. The cost is less than $10.00  
Good luck.
B
Admit nothing, Deny everything, Demand proof, and Make counter-accusations!

89springer