May 09, 2024, 12:17:05 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Mabey the first one on posted on the new HTT but i have another oil question

Started by hotbagger1, November 02, 2008, 06:02:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hotbagger1

I have been using redline oil for 15 years but it's kind of a pain in the a$$ to get in my area and mail order the shipping charges are pretty pricey
and i don't like amsoil , so my question is since mobil 1 v-twin synthetic is pretty easy to get in my area should i switch ? is it as good as redline what do you think ?

redline $12.50 per qt + shipping which was $ 27.00 a case last time i ordered it

mobil 1 $9.50 per qt

if the redline is that much better i don't mind paying the extra money

fxstdavew

Try and see if you like it. Bottom line any oil even amsoil works, provided it's changed when it is supposed to be changed. Find one that make you feel confident and is easy to get and run it.
Most bike problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebar to the seat

wayzalot

I just changed to Mobile 1V twin Synthetic and got 5 quarts and a filter for $29 at autozone  . Clean synthetic oil is the main thing.  Availability and price also is important.
"My life is based on a true story"

WVULTRA

After running the Mobil1 V-Twin for several years, and being able to get it at a good price via the area Wal-Marts, they all decided to quit stocking it.

Ordered the Red Line Big Twin 20W50 PowerPack which included the oil, Shockproof Heavy for trans, and MTL for Primary.  As you noted, a definite price increase when you factor in the shipping; but no sales tax.