May 02, 2024, 05:55:28 AM

News:

Clutch Cable...reckon it might be time..??

Started by guido4198, December 18, 2008, 07:49:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

guido4198

1985 FXR....
Lately my clutch is engaging as soon as the lever gets off the grip a quarter inch or so. I've tried adjusting through the derby cover, without much change. Checked the throw out bearing and clutch push rod end....all look good. Near as I can figure, I've run this cable around 100,000 mi...give or take a few.
Reckon it's just time for a new one, or might something else be going on...???
Thanks,
G.

JamLazyAss

Guido,

I recon it's time for you to dip into your "First Communion Money"...   

100,000 miles... Buy a new cable :cry:
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

ClassicRider2002

December 18, 2008, 10:47:37 PM #2 Last Edit: December 18, 2008, 10:51:28 PM by ClassicRider2002
".....FIRST COMMUNION MONEY....."  

:hyst:   

Now that is funny!

Merry Christmas everyone!!

Regards,

"Classic"
MIGHTY MOUSE CAM
LOW END TORQUE JUNKIE 2

codyshop

Is that a top-lever or side-cover cable tranny?  Ray

guido4198

OK...I think I get the message...!!!
It's a top-lever style.
Any special recommendations for a a good Clutch Cable, or just "go factory"...???
Thanks again, and MERRY CHRISTMAS to All...!!

Rags722

Sure hope someone can explain to me how a cable would cause this problem.  Sure, at 100,000 miles it may be time to replace the cable as a maint item, but I don't see how the cable can cause the problem described.  Once adjusted properly, an old cable should function just like a brand new one in my mind.  Seem to me something else is worn and not letting the pushrod go through it's normal range of motion.
Rags

guido4198

Hey Rags,