April 27, 2024, 07:47:39 AM

News:

Jockey shift ??

Started by Panzer, December 30, 2008, 06:27:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Panzer

December 30, 2008, 06:27:11 PM Last Edit: December 30, 2008, 06:35:45 PM by Panzer
I've seen an ad in the local paper where is says: Jockey shift for a 2004-later Sporster.
Everything is chrome w/all hardware and instructions.  $400.00 OBO.
What the heck is a "jockey shift"?
I've ridden a few years, but this beats me.

Panzer
Everyone wants to change the world but, no one wants to change the toilet paper.

crazybastid83

The shifter is mounted direct, no linkage for a foot shifter, usually with a suicide clutch (foot).

JamLazyAss

"What the heck is a "jockey shift"?"

Jockey shift is shifting by Hand... with a foot clutch.
It's a gas   :up:
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

Panzer

December 30, 2008, 06:33:00 PM #3 Last Edit: December 30, 2008, 06:40:10 PM by Panzer
Thx......got a pix of it by chance?

Had a suicide clutch on my very first bike when I was 16, a 1940 Harley.
I remember the toe heel clutch thingy well   :smilep: ............no thanks.
Everyone wants to change the world but, no one wants to change the toilet paper.

MMOCGuy