May 01, 2024, 05:52:14 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Futher Frame details needed and frame repair questions

Started by Little Al, December 31, 2008, 02:06:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Little Al

December 31, 2008, 02:06:34 PM Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 02:08:13 PM by Little Al
so in my previous post about my frame their seemed to be a bit of disagreement on the year of the frame. I've already decided I'm gonna use it on my '54 FL but in closer examination I found the following. I consulted Palmer's as best I could but I'm not that good at researching I guess, or maybe I just don't know how to read? lol.

left rear axle slot: XE-7
http://s726.photobucket.com/albums/ww263/LittleAl_2008/1954%20PanHead/?action=view&current=leftrearaxle.jpg

Right rear axle slot: XE-6
http://s726.photobucket.com/albums/ww263/LittleAl_2008/1954%20PanHead/?action=view&current=rightrearaxle.jpg

under seat post area: 48E-1
http://s726.photobucket.com/albums/ww263/LittleAl_2008/1954%20PanHead/?action=view&current=seatframebottom1.jpg

so these pics may help you guys further define what year it might be.

More important, one of the left front motor mount holes is stripped and a lousy repair was done to it. I'm looking for suggestions on a good solid, neat fix
http://s726.photobucket.com/albums/ww263/LittleAl_2008/1954%20PanHead/?action=view&current=leftfrontmount1.jpg

Next, obviously someone decided to weld a plate over the seat mounting tube. should I try and cut it off or maybe just drill a hole through it a bit larger then the tube, then have the edge of the hole welded to the top of the tube (would be nice & strong right?)
http://s726.photobucket.com/albums/ww263/LittleAl_2008/1954%20PanHead/?action=view&current=seatframetop.jpg
http://s726.photobucket.com/albums/ww263/LittleAl_2008/1954%20PanHead/?action=view&current=seatframebottom1.jpg