May 02, 2024, 08:01:05 PM

News:

Cylinder head volumes?

Started by Rumblefeesh, January 02, 2009, 01:26:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rumblefeesh

I can't recall finding info on combustion chamber volumes of different heads anywhere - I am not setup to measure volumen on different heads accurately - does anyone have info on the volumes for the different factory heads, and/or for STD and S&S?

shovelbill

i know a guy that may know the cc #'s of some different heads. i'll give him a shout and see what i can find out for ya.
                                                                          bill
build it, bust it.....figure out why

crazycanadian

I'll give you some really good free advice! NEVER EVER accept what is written on paper to be what the heads are ever! OR what the piston SAYS you will have !!!!..  I built race engines for a living and I would honestly say 7 times out of 10 they are never as advertised.. that goes for car engines to.! I did a 396 last summer that all the pieces claimed 10.4 compression.. when actually measured.. it was 7.5 .. same for a 331sbc.. he had an actual 7.8 compression. I just finished a twincam that used screaming eagle 10.25 pistons.. when measured out it had 9.3!!!!!.

All you need to cc is a basic 60cc syringe and alil baby 3cc for the final air bubble and a piece of plexiglass with a small hold drilled in it nothing more!  For shovel heads I have a round one to fit inside the fire ring hole to give me an accurate reading easier. If you need help I'll gladly walk you through it! Your giving up free horsepower and fuel economy and throttle response! and YES it matters lol!!

step one..