May 09, 2024, 12:21:13 AM

News:

MIG Welding questions

Started by Ken R, January 04, 2009, 03:34:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken R

About 5 years ago, I bought a Lincoln 155 wire welder.  Went back a few weeks later and bought the MIG welder accessory kit. 

Here I am five years later . . . . have never used the accessory kit.  But after drilling and welding O2 sensor bungs on my headers, I'm thinking that MIG welding might have made a cleaner job without having to clean, grind, and file before welding a second layer to make sure that it was leak free.  (I'm not a professional welder but have done a whole lot of stick welding in my lifetime).

Any tips on MIG welding that I should know before visiting the welding supply for a cylinder of inert gas?

Ken

Showdog75

Get yourself a bottle of C-25 or some call it 75/25 . Don't do the gasless flux-core it's junk . Clean , clean , clean .

fxstdavew

Best advice I can give is to practice on the same gage metals to get the machine set up than practice, practice, practice. The finished result will be much better
Most bike problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebar to the seat

Memnar

I agree, get a bottle of C25 - 75% Argon, 25% CO2.  It will penetrate better than straight Argon. A 125cu ft size will match your machine but will cost the same to fill almost as the 250 cu ft bottle. So decide if you want a huge bottle on the back of the cart - do you want it to do a wheelie, I would guess not.

Call around as the prices vary a lot for buying the bottle and fill, probably as much as $20-$30.

AirGas has their own trade name for it and will tell you it works better than the standard C25 blend, less spatter, bla bla bla, etc.. But its just 16% Argon. Its a good money maker for them but you don't need it.