May 09, 2024, 08:25:26 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Ion knock detection sensitivity

Started by BVHOG, July 18, 2011, 06:26:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BVHOG

Is there a difference between calibrations regarding the knock sensitivity? If so could this potentially be adjusted by a reference table?
If you don't have a sense of humor you probably have no sense at all.

wurk_truk

Pretty cool question.  The ION sensing itself is built into the coil... no change there possible.  But, it should be all software driven from that point on HOW and WHEN it polls the sensor and also what amount is the ECM supposed to disregard.  I would like it...  maybe... at 100% at all times, but I don't know if there is software in there to disregard known bad reads?  And... ARE there known bad reads of this?
Oh No!

cts1950

I have been chasing knock for several years. On both of my bikes a 103 and a 95 The ecm shows fast retard events yet I can not hear them. Even with knock retard turned off or even set to .25 degree retard just to see if the events are recorded. I have paid attention to keeping stock wires and spark plugs in them both. I spoke to Springer once on the phone and we concluded I was chasing phantoms. He said that they see a lot of Fat and Retarded bikes come into his shop for tuning. Most people enrich the fuel mix and retard the timing to try to get rid of the perceived knock.  I wish there was a way to confirm if it really worked. When I was running the DTT ecm knock was easy to hear.

Don D