September 20, 2024, 06:28:40 PM

News:

Brakes or something internal?

Started by NotaFATBOB, January 22, 2009, 01:24:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NotaFATBOB

I have an 08 FAT BOB with 3500 Mi. I can hardly push it forward or backwards in Neutral. The belt is not tight so i was wondering anyone have this problem.....Sorry i'm a newbie. Thanks, Terry G.

sedgar2

Hard to recommend any action, I would first get the wheels off the ground and see how they turn by hand. Should get at least a motorcycle jack and if you can afford it a table lift. Does the bike roll down say a small incline?

Clintster

Call your dealer, it is under warranty.  Most will come and get them, especially that new.
Drive fast, take chances

Panzer

January 22, 2009, 01:57:37 PM #3 Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 01:59:09 PM by Panzer
Nota,
Firstly........welcome on-board.
I think Sedgar2 has the right idea.
Raise the front of the bike up so the wheel is off the ground and spin it.
Do the same with the back.
That will tell you if the brakes are kinda dragging.
The belt being tight or loose, I don't think that would be the source.
I'm sure others here will chime in.
Stay posted and let us know the outcome.

Panzer
Everyone wants to change the world but, no one wants to change the toilet paper.

geezerglide

had same problem on my SEEG, it turned the Rotors were out of round, no idea how that happened, only guess was that the shop who changed out my tires may have squashed the front rotor in the Vise on the Table Lift. Replaced both rotors, now no problem, also before the tire change I could roll the bike around with no problem. Only fond out because I got a tank slapper at 100 mph. then took into shop to check alignment, thats when discovered rotors were bent and a missing wheel weight.

geezerglide

Superheat9