May 04, 2024, 08:24:42 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Financial experts

Started by Phu Cat, January 22, 2009, 02:53:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phu Cat

All this talk about the economy seems to have many worried. I'm getting ready to retire and I'm one of 'em.

What would happen it the interest on the money we've borrowed to is more than GDP?  Will the dollar become worthless?

PC
Too much horsepower is almost enough.

Jim Bronson

Not worthless, just worth less. Big difference!
Going down that long, lonesome highway. Gonna live life my way.

HIPPO

January 22, 2009, 05:44:42 PM #2 Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 05:56:47 PM by HIPPO
I'm not a financial professional, but it's one of my hobbies.

Not advice, just my opinion.
As of right now I would be totally liquid, no paper investments of any kind, and stay under FDIC limits on any deposits. T's or TIPS are OK short term only if held in your own name or in a TD account.

You might lose in U$S assets, but most likely will lose more in other currencies for a while. If you want to hedge it use physical gold.
It can change quick if the Fed goes crazy.

Bottom line these days it isn't about return ON assets but about return OF assets.
Pay down any debt, unless it is very low rate and very long term, and you have a guaranteed income stream to service it. Like a government check. Not a job that can be lost.

tacojunkie

How is Gold held , and how do you buy it ? I hear commercials for purchasing Gold, What do they give you etc.?

HIPPO

How you doing Taco?

You are lucky, one of the best places is near you.
http://www.tulving.com/

The problem with places like Tulving or Apmex is that they require purchases big enough to put you into reportable transactions.

Buying and selling a few OZ at the time one just has to find a few good coin shops. Lots of them in the LA area.