April 27, 2024, 04:55:46 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

OT - Ford Explorer Oil Leak

Started by f-x-d-w-g, January 25, 2009, 02:33:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

f-x-d-w-g

My wife's car is a 2000 Explorer with an OHC V-6.  A couple of days ago it started smelling really badly of burning oil.  When she comes home from work and parks in the garage, it smells just like pouring oil on an exhaust manifold.  I suspect a rocker box gasket and will give it a look tomorrow when she takes my car to work.  I figure I'll take it to the car wash and hose the engine down really well then take a 20 mile highway drive before looking for the leak.

Anythig difficult about replacing the rocker box gaskets on this car?  Anything to watch out for?
Dan
Tijeras, NM

03deuce

I'm no auto mechanic, but I would check the bolt torque first, using the proper sequence.  You might get lucky with just a loose bolt. 

kik

f-x-d-w-g, I assume you're talking about the valve cover gaskets. Being it's a 2000 explorer, you may have to remove the plenum and varoius other parts of the fuel injection system and the air filter system. Retourqing the cover usually doesn't work, the gasket has probably failed.

Kik 

f-x-d-w-g

Thanks, Guys.  I planned to check the bolt torque first but, if I have to remove everything to access them, it's probably better to just spring for the gaskets.  I'd hate to take it apart twice in this 12 degree weather... :cry:
Dan
Tijeras, NM

f-x-d-w-g