April 30, 2024, 05:02:40 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Rear Cylinder Base Gasket Leak

Started by 2rooper, November 06, 2012, 03:02:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2rooper

Okay, lets get this part out of the way, I am new to owning a shovelhead, I have heard that they leak all the time.  I have a small oil leak (like a silver dollar size stain on the pan after a ride) at the rear cylinder base gasket.  Bike is running very well.  I know a few of the mods on the bike but I do not have details on all.  It is electronic ignition, it has had some head work but they are still single plug.  Should I be concerned or is this par for the course?  I personally am not big fan of my bike marking it's territory but if this is normal I can deal.  Also, is there such a thing as a leak free Shovel, if so what does one have to do to get there?  Again I would rather ride it more than wrench on it if possible.  Thanks for the input.

easyricer

There are some leak free Shovels out there, but if you ask me, I kinda liked my Shovel dripping in peoples parking lots. I really loved pulling up to a Harley shop just to drip and browse the pretty shiny things in the store. 
Even my ol Betsie was drip free for a little while, but then my tranny decided to let some oil go. I'd much rather ride than worry about leaks.
If the base gaskets are leaking it can get pretty ugly between washes. As long as she's running good let it be until some down time, like snow on the ground or too hot to want to ride. My ol Gal gets washed once a year, whether she needs it or not. For right now, she's being rebuilt, so she might not leak for a few days anyhow.
EASY
Just ride the damned thing!

Mule