May 09, 2024, 05:07:00 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Hello from Libya

Started by City Chicken, September 21, 2013, 10:38:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

City Chicken

OK I am not actually Libyan, I am just a US Contractor working here (after 3.5 years in Afghanistan and a few months in Basrah, Iraq.)

After coming home and marrying my child bride back in 2011, she got her house and I got my Harley - a 2012 Ultra Limited.  Yeah, I went right to the top on this deal; in fact, I didn't even have my motorcycle license yet so I drove around illegally learning how to ride on back country roads, took the MSF course and then got legit.

Of course, my driving "privileges" have now been rescinded in Virginia and the District of Columbia, but that is all just a matter of he said, she said, 87 in a 55, blah blah blah.  My wife just needs to get down to the DMV and pay a reinstatement fee for Virginia so that I can keep my clearance (gotta work for Uncle Sugar and that means looking clean clean clean, especially after that spas killed all those innocents at the Navy Yard while managing to keep his clearance despite an obvious history of violence.)  I guess I do need to slow down a bit, but were these things really built to putt putt putt around?  When I get on I-70 going east to Baltimore, HAMMER TIME!

While I was home I was putting approximately 15 thousand miles a year on my sled (I bought the extended warranty and my goal was to pile on the miles so that I could drag the bike into the dealership with any mileage related issues and triumphantly announce "Under warranty!")  My local dealership is Grove's Harley Davidson just outside of Winchester, and I cannot say enough good things about everyone there (especially Jeff who runs the Service Department.)