News:

back to the manual

Started by luckee13, March 02, 2009, 04:45:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

luckee13

March 02, 2009, 04:45:52 PM Last Edit: March 03, 2009, 06:22:15 AM by luckee13
  thanks!

jmanjeff

Yes you need a voltage regulator points or not . It is part of the charging system it is not part of the ignition system
1957  Sportster

luckee13

well i been riding it without one and the battery stays fully charged without a problem.  would not having one affect the no-start when hot problem? thanks for the reply.

dirtywhitewalls

voltage regulator should have no effect on starting, but not having one is going to eat your battery..... then it will effect your elect start.

- check your coil
- i have no knowledge of electronic ignition(i don't go in for that sort of thing), but if you have contact points, I'd say replace condenser
- did you have this problem before you replaced carburetor?
- you have a good vent on fuel tank or good vented cap?

mike

eglideic

First I don't think going back to points is the right idea.
You might as well also go back to using candles instead of electric lights.
Harley had a VERY GOOD V-Fire electronic ignition in the 1980s that would work just fine for you.
And if you don't even know that you need a regulator you had better stop working on your bike altogether.
I'm not saying you're not a nice guy, it's just that you are attempting something you have no business doing.
Stick to what you know. It's hard to tell what damage you might do to your bike.
Find an experienced friend that can show you the ins and outs while he's working on it.

dirtywhitewalls

"First I don't think going back to points is the right idea.
You might as well also go back to using candles instead of electric lights".???

he should also maybe loose the carb and get some kind of electronic fuel injection.