May 10, 2024, 06:12:22 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

which do you prefer a Lathe or bench top drill/mill

Started by gabbyduffy, March 03, 2014, 03:18:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gabbyduffy

I've been looking for a lathe or a bench top drill/mill for my garage and was wondering which would be better for a beginner to start with for working on Harley heads?  Is there a particular size or brand lathe that mechanics prefer to use for working on heads? 

Duffy 216-633-8541 eastern time zone.

Coff 06

For head work I would think a mill over a lathe.But then again I don't do headwork.I was a machinist years ago,things change.            Coff 06
06 FX Springer, 98",11/1,9B+4*,HPI 55/58 /5.3inj,HDSP Pro Street heads,123/118

q1svt

Think about the types of things you will be making...  what do they require (milling, drilling, lathing) and how big are pieces your making?  Do friends/family already have one that is available where you can get the other? There are some small three in-one machines too... 
Greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance, it's the illusion of knowledge.

PoorUB

Quote from: gabbyduffy on March 03, 2014, 03:18:22 PM
             I've been looking for a lathe or a bench top drill/mill for my garage and was wondering which would be better for a beginner to start with for working on Harley heads?  Is there a particular size or brand lathe that mechanics prefer to use for working on heads? 

Head work? I am not sure I would want either! :scratch:

What type of head work are you thinking of doing? Most guys doing head work have a dedicated machine that is built just for head and valve work.