May 06, 2024, 05:21:57 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Stuff the MoCo got right.....

Started by Big Dan, March 04, 2009, 05:20:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clintster

I think they nailed it with the riders adjustable backrest.  Adjustable, removeable and nothing makes the long day in the saddle go well for an old guy like me.
Drive fast, take chances

Sonny S.

They must be doing sumptin right because they've keep the doors open for 106 years

JamLazyAss

Something the Motor Co did right huh...

Well, umm, ahh, err, gimmie a minute.

I know, 1903.

Where did they get their start? In a WOOD SHED like me n Panzer !   :hyst:
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

calif phil

Another vote for the jiffy stand. The 96 and up handlebar switchs are the best in the industry. Having the turn signal on each side is perfect. I hate riding a jap bike with one TS switch on the left side. I hate riding a jap bike period. 

taz95dog

didn't amf come up with the evo motor?...taz...
home town va.bch., va. usn '68-'72

Black Diamond

Based on my reading of several MoCo history books: The development of the Evo was started in 1977 under AMF management. The Evo was developed in house while the MoCo hired Porsche Design to develop the Nova motor, a water cooled V-twin. Although AMF did some things that hurt the MoCo, they did some things right like invest in developing the Evo. It's just very easy to bash AMF. They weren't Harley people.

JW

codyshop

I'm surprised nobody's said marketing.  Ray

Big Dan

Nova was a water cooled V4. Porsche later sold the design to Yamaha, and it became the V-Max. Oh, what could have been....
Never follow the Hippo into the water.

Black Diamond

Quote from: Big Dan on March 06, 2009, 09:01:30 AM
Nova was a water cooled V4. Porsche later sold the design to Yamaha, and it became the V-Max. Oh, what could have been....