May 06, 2024, 12:02:53 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

what's best for cleaning chrome?

Started by dynaglide, March 07, 2009, 06:42:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dynaglide

My bike has been stored for about a year and half, outdoors but under a roof and a cover.  The chrome is heavily tarnished with some light surface rust in spots.  What's good for cleaning it up?  I used to like Mother's polish for routine cleaning, but it doesn't seem to be getting the job done in removing all of the tarnish.  Does Simichrome, or something else, work better?

HenryJ

I have had good luck with NAVAL JELLY.

xxxflhrci

JamLazyAss

Girlfriend with small brain and big muscles.
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

apendejo

Quote from: xxxflhrci on March 07, 2009, 06:48:27 PM
SOS pad and lots of water.
Good for that "Brushed Stainless Steel" look.
AP

Big Dan

Never follow the Hippo into the water.

rihdrkc

Mike52

Quote from: dynaglide on March 07, 2009, 06:42:22 PM
My bike has been stored for about a year and half, outdoors but under a roof and a cover.  The chrome is heavily tarnished with some light surface rust in spots.  What's good for cleaning it up?  I used to like Mother's polish for routine cleaning, but it doesn't seem to be getting the job done in removing all of the tarnish.  Does Simichrome, or something else, work better?

Dynaglide, you will be amazed at what 0000 steel wool will do for your chrome, pick up a bag at any Home Depot, Lowes or hardware, look in the paint dept. It needs to be 0000 (4 zeros), this is very fine steel wool, it will not scratch the chrome finish. This is used in most dealerships in their detail dept. I use it regularly, especially for boot smudges on pipes.

Mike

[attachment removed after 60 days by system]
Mike52   Tampa Bay,FL
www.harleytechtalk.net

xxxflhrci