September 20, 2024, 05:26:20 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

New shiny bits...

Started by CraigArizona85248, May 01, 2014, 07:50:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CraigArizona85248

I've been running this tiny air cleaner for a couple years.

I figured I'd try this S&S air cleaner. I'm pretty sure it will breath better and filter better. Still running the CV40 carb.

Deye76

:up: Oil changes should be further apart now. Little one does look cool, but for a daily driver the larger more practical.
East Tenn.<br /> 2020 Lowrider S Touring, 2014 CVO RK,  1992 FXRP

CraigArizona85248

That was my thinking too.  I loved the look of the tiny air cleaner, the way it didn't block the view of the engine.  But the engineer in me never liked the efficiency and effectiveness.

-Craig

saddle tramp

Nice looking bike. I like the larger air cleaner, it may cover some of the engine but it should work much better. I hate seeing an engine chocked down with a small air filter just for looks.

CraigArizona85248

Choked down is a good description. I figured I'd open it up real good on the ride home today and it did feel like it was winding up easier at the top of the RPM range.

Does anyone know what the cover on the S&S is made of?  It's pretty thick at the edge which makes me think it's aluminum.

-Craig

FSG

Will a fridqe magnet stick to it?

rigidthumper

Backing plate used to be pot metal, outer cover aluminum. Not sure if that's the case. BTW, who makes those pipes? I need a set for my 48 :')
Ignorance is bliss, and accuracy expensive. How much of either can you afford?

saddle tramp

Quote from: CraigArizona85248 on May 02, 2014, 05:02:34 PM
Choked down is a good description. I figured I'd open it up real good on the ride home today and it did feel like it was winding up easier at the top of the RPM range.