May 06, 2024, 03:29:35 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Broken side plate= dangerous

Started by Azgunner, March 08, 2009, 08:45:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Azgunner

March 08, 2009, 08:45:40 PM Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 08:46:12 PM by Azgunner
I heard an unusual rattling while on a ride on Sat. Finally decided to pull over to see if I could find something loose & look what I found! Man, am I grateful my wife wasn't on the back or my 60+ year old mother who I occasionally take for a ride. You call it what you want, but I call it the grace of God considering the wife & I just did a 400 mile ride last weekend & my Mom had been on there just a couple weeks before.

Just had side straps replaced due to damage in an accident in October so they are brand new from a company that sells in Custom Chrome. I've been using a set of their side plates for the last 6 years with no problems.

[attachment removed after 60 days by system]
"All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing"

Memnar

That does not look good. So do you think they are defective?
Or because the bike was in an accident, did the accident some how, now be putting a stress on the plates?

Glad nobody got hurt, that what counts.
Albuquerque, NM.

codyshop

Since that's a Dyna I'd say you've got a bent strut rail.  If they're not exactly parallel, one of the sideplates will torsion-snap over time.  Ray

HroadhogD1

You can probably sell it to someone for their wife or mother-in law. :hyst:   No, really it to bad that happened, but nobody got hurt.  See what the company that you got it from says, maybe they will at least return your money or replace it.  Let us know what happens.

RK101

Ray, Could a out of whack sissy bar cause that same thing to happen? Was thinking maybe it's not the fender struts but the sissy bar itself is not made quite right.???