May 04, 2024, 10:05:26 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

How do I cut a Formica Counter Top.............??

Started by JamLazyAss, March 12, 2009, 04:03:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

I plan to buy one from Home Depot.
It is eight feet in length.
I only need approx seven feet.
This countertop appears to be made from a particle board material with some sort of formica on top.
What is a good method to cut this without destroying the formica?

I have heard about placing tape on it where the cut is going to be to minimize chipping.
Does that work?
Is there a better way?
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

road-dawgs1

I believe it gets cut with a router, but not sure.
'24 FLTRX Sharkskin blue

cig

Use a strait edge, powersaw with a good blade (carbide prefered) and cut from the bottom.
cig 
Alton, Illinois

Big_Bulky_RK

If you get a countertop that is longer than needed, I have had good luck using a circular saw with a fine blade. 40 tooth carbide works fine.  I use duct tape on the top side to protect the finish. Sand the edge when done.
I have found a kitchen wholesale house 15 mins from me that have chipped or misordered counters and cabinets at a very reasonal price.  I bought a 12 foot finished counter for a workbench for $45.  They supply the local Lowes store.  Most all the Lowes, Home Depot, Menards get their custom counters from a local kitchen shop.
Michigan,    Pot Hole Capital of the US

Low Glide

PoorUB

Cig has it right, skil saw, fine blade, cut from the backside. Use a straight edge to guide the saw if you want to make sure you get a nice straight edge.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!

Big_Bulky_RK

Yes I left out the part about cutting from the bottom. sorry
Michigan,    Pot Hole Capital of the US

Snuff™