May 06, 2024, 12:37:56 AM

News:

Ultra--CB

Started by deltafarmer, March 16, 2009, 05:55:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deltafarmer

What kind of range are you guys getting ? I can only get about 1/2 mile,  thanks

Coyote

I can get 2-4 miles out of mine. Depends on terrain. But I did take the time to tune it properly. They do not come tuned from the factory (or dealer).

deltafarmer

This is my first time using a CB.  How do you "tune" a CB ?  Thanks!!

harleyjt

Quote from: deltafarmer on March 16, 2009, 06:19:14 PM
This is my first time using a CB.  How do you "tune" a CB ?  Thanks!!

You set the antenna length by using a SWR (standing wave ratio) meter to achieve as close to 1 to 1 as possible.  Personally, I can't get much closer than about 1.5 which is acceptable.
jt
2017 Ultra Classic - Mysterious Red/Velocity Red

truck

Just like you, about 1/2mile, which is enough for group rides.
In the old days, in the 18 wheeler, I could talk a hundred miles, with a little heat.
Listen to the jingle the rumble and the roar.

adayrider

Quote from: trück on March 16, 2009, 07:35:42 PM
In the old days, in the 18 wheeler, I could talk a hundred miles, with a little heat.