May 06, 2024, 12:41:08 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

883/1200 Conversion

Started by kik, March 19, 2009, 08:55:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kik

Hi Guys, I have a buddy that's looking to do a conversion o his 883. It has +30000 on it now. He was asking if the conversion in the link I added was a good one. I don't know anything about the conversions so I'm asking the experts. Thanks for any help. Kik

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1200-BIG-BORE-CONVERSION-KIT-86-03-SPORTSTER-SILVER_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ35572QQihZ002QQitemZ120377849247QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

Panzer

March 19, 2009, 03:06:23 PM #1 Last Edit: March 19, 2009, 03:34:02 PM by Panzer
Seems to be a good purchase, but then I'm no expert.

I'd wait to get the "MAYOR" or "andyxlh " to say yea or nay.
They do check in here on occasion.
Wait a couple days, if they don't respond by then, send me a message and I'll get them to contact you.
These two are the experts on the conversion.

Panzer
Everyone wants to change the world but, no one wants to change the toilet paper.

mayor

I agree with Panzer, that's not a bad deal. The pistons are a dish to keep the compression down with the stock head chamber.  I personally would prefer flat tops with a head chamber enlargement instead, might even be able to do that for about the same price.  Either way the conversion will be a noticeable improvement over the 883, but running untouched 883 heads is going to limit potential. 
warning, this poster suffers from bizarre delusions

Hillside Motorcycle

A Kibblewhite 883-1200 conversion valve set-up, along with flatops, and a set of Andrews 8 cams, and keep it pointed straight.
Large fun.
Otto Knowbetter sez, "Even a fish wouldn't get caught if he kept his mouth shut"

Don D