April 28, 2024, 09:51:41 AM

News:

2012 FLHTK system advice

Started by bteski, January 22, 2015, 06:47:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bteski

Hi I am new to the touring bike I just bought a 2012 FLHTK & love the radio but want to make it better, After much research it looks like I am going to use the Biketronics  2180 amp with the 7.1's wrapped with polyfil  in the fairing with the plan to add the 6.5's in the lowers in the near future after I acquire the parts to do this & have them painted. I will be using the Harley radio for the time being.
I plan to run the tour pack pods on the head unit & will make the tour pack removable @ some point in time. Should I change out the rear pod speakers they are in good shape is there anything to gain by changing them.  Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
Thx Bob
My friend says having a fast Harley is like being the smartest kid in summer sch

UltraNutZ

if you're going to make it a removable tourpak, I would just leave them.  If you want to improve them and retain the stock pod grills, take a look at the kicker CS674 as a replacement.

and on the BT stuff..  :up:   you'll be very happy with that.  I'm assuming you're speaking of the BT 6.5" speakers and if so you're golden, if not then make sure whatever you put down in the lowers can A) handle power and B) are 4 ohm.
Politicians are like diapers.
They need to be changed for the same reasons

bteski

yes all Bike tronic in the front the only thing I didn't think about was some type of tweeters in the dash if I added some what would you suggest & what to drive them with,  I don't plan on ever putting speakers in the saddle bags I need the room for trips so I don't think the 4180 would be needed for the extra channels,  everything will pretty much be up front but I would like the tour pack pods to be okay, this sound is for riding not sitting.
Thx Bob
My friend says having a fast Harley is like being the smartest kid in summer sch

UltraNutZ