April 27, 2024, 01:40:22 PM

News:

New Project

Started by bc1, May 26, 2015, 01:00:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bc1

I am new to Sportsters, I ride an Ultra Classic. But....... I have always wanted a project bike. You know, something I can do my way, and have smaller, lighter bike to ride on when I don't feel like getting Brigitte,(My Ultra) out. I have also wanted to rebuild a vintage bike, I am fairly good with tools.

A friend of mine called, said there's a 74 Sportster, with a 77 front end, (dual disk brake setup) for sale. The engine has been rebuilt. I don't know any more than that. The heads need to be reworked, no problem for me. So, I get a rolling chassis, engine, and all the parts/tin for $1200.

What should I be looking for, good and bad? Also, what were the colors of 1974?

I'm going to go look at the bike and parts later this week, so any advise would be appreciated.

Racepres

'78 was the first year for dual disk I.H.
They All have Been Rebuilt when yer Buying!!!!
And I'm trying to Figger out why a Rebuilt motor needs the Heads done?????
Make sure the thing Shifts...don't really have to run...just rock back and forth and ensure she goes thru the gears.....
Color is something I would be Shocked to find out is stock...
My biggest obstacle to Sportsters older than '77 [actually 1975] is the shifting on the right....I don't like it as much as I did when I was [much] younger...

nibroc

wow---somebody posted

bc1

I was told it does have right hand shift, kick start and electric start. The engine was rebuilt, except for the heads. The motor has the top of the jugs sealed off. I was told that the heads need to be looked at.

Dual disks were on a 77. I have a service manual for this model series and owners manual for a 1977.

Will be sure to check the tranny.

Is $1200 a reasonable price for this parts project? Seems a bit high, but reasonable depending on how complete the bike is as far as parts.

Racepres