April 27, 2024, 07:19:57 PM

News:

New chain

Started by 04customking, March 30, 2009, 11:49:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

04customking

I've decided not to trust the chain that came on my bike even though it doesn't have hardly any miles on it. Not worth it to me. Craig, I saw you posted awhile back about a new Tsubaki Sigma 530 chain you bought. Any insight as to the best place to buy one? Any other ideas for a good chain? Thanks, Jim
Jim  '54 FL Pan. '04 RK Custom

Little Al

March 30, 2009, 12:40:48 PM #1 Last Edit: March 30, 2009, 12:43:56 PM by Little Al
I've been using Tsubaki chains for a few years and think their great. the one on my Shovel has been running for 50K and has only needed adjustment a few times. when I put it on I put new sprockets on too. I bought mine from my local HD dealer (don't know who he ordered it from) but J&P for sure sells them, I actually just bought one for my Pan from J&P (600-987) for $42 although you can probably get it cheaper. I just happened to be getting a few other things from them and it helped put me over the limit to get free shipping.
Little Al

CraigArizona85248

Jim,

If you are price shopping, the best thing to do is just do a Google search and compare that way.  Seems like prices fluctuate a bit so you never know who has the best price.  I got mine from Dennis Kirk for $150 (or there abouts).  The Tsubaki Sigma 530 is a very different chain from the one Little Al posted.  The Sigma is an O-ring chain that requires little maintenance and is cleaner then a standard roller chain.  The Sigma is also rated at 10,600 lbs tensile strength (vs. 7,040 lbs for the standard roller chain from Tsubaki).  But you sure can't beat getting 50K miles from a chain.  I thought I was doing really well to get 25K miles from my first set of chain and sprockets.

-Craig

Pynzo

Try Phat Performance- they've got some good prices too but they only ship Fed Ex.

Little Al