May 01, 2024, 10:00:13 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

SERT AFR Desired ?

Started by Crockett, April 04, 2009, 05:55:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crockett

On a SERT you can read the parameter "AFR Desired" (AFR Command in Twin Scan).
Can someone tell me how the ECM comes up with the AFR Desired that you see in Data Mode
Im curious what variables effect this and how the ECM uses the data on a bike with no O2 sensors ?

wolf_59

I'm pretty sure that is what your ECM is programed for, it is not reading your actual AFR
From what I have gathered from using my TTS you set your desired AFR in the table and then adjust your VE's to make make those AFR's actually happen, To do so you need to be able to read your actual AFR's with an O2 sensor and meter

I'm only a beginner so maybe one of the more experinced guys will respond

Crockett

Wolf
There has to more to it then you have mentioned
You would think by the title that the AFR Desired would be a setpoint that you enter although it is contantly being changed by the ECM.
My question is what is the ECM basing these changes on and how it affects the tables.

Thanks for the reply

Scott

wolf_59

I'll try to attach this maybe it can explain it better

[attachment removed after 60 days by system]

FLTRI

Quote from: Crockett on April 04, 2009, 05:55:22 AM
Can someone tell me how the ECM comes up with the AFR Desired that you see in Data Mode
Im curious what variables effect this and how the ECM uses the data on a bike with no O2 sensors ?
Once the VE tables-to-actual AFR have been precicely calibrated to a base of say 13.2 with the AFR table set to 13.2, the AFR table will recalculate the actual AFR t o the AFR table's target.
The fact is the VE tables must be properly calibrated on a dyno in order for the software to recalculate a change made in the AFR table.