May 02, 2024, 06:34:18 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

How do I stop this oil leak?

Started by JamLazyAss, November 18, 2015, 12:52:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

Oil leak on a Pan. I know it's hard to believe. lol

Anyhow,
it's a 52 Pan, fairly new to me.
The oil seems to be coming out at the shaft (clutch side).
I have a belt drive, so obviously I don't want any oil.

In my old Panhead Service Manual,
it shows a OIL RETAINING BUSHING that presses into something.
Too hard to read.
Anyone know if this might be the problem and how to:
~ Find the part number to order it
~ How to install it

Any advice is appreciated.
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

fourthgear

If that's the seal / Bushing on the Sprocket shaft & if I remember how I did my 48 , I think I made or cut a Gasket , like a horse shoe ,but with only a small gap at the bottom ,for the left motor case mates with the Inner Primary . Acts like a drain passage , because I'm not sure you can stop that seal / Bushing ( or what ever they want to call it ) from leaking . The split at the bottom of the gasket directs any or most of the leak to the outside bottom of the Inner Primary . If you follow me .
   I hardly get any oil in the Primary , I just had it apart , to clean the clutch & re-grease the Clutch shell bearings & there was some little hairs in there , from the Belt , not much, if any oil ,belt was dry .

I thought they made a retro seal for that early shaft configuration, but its been a long time & I don't keep up with this stuff like I used too.

drifter

JamLazyAss