May 10, 2024, 06:27:37 AM

News:

1978 1/2 motor questions

Started by scottk, February 20, 2016, 01:45:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scottk

Ok so I've got a 1978.5 FLH anniversary that was a barn find...been sitting for 8+ years. Started tearing down the motor and noticed a few things that didn't look right. before I go any farther I'm not a expert on all things Harley, I did do a rebuild on a 55/66 (generator bottom) shovel 20+ years ago but all the head work I sent out....any hoo when I got the heads and rocker boxes off there were no valve guide seals on any of the guides. 2nd when I took off the cylinders the gasket was covering the oil port holes...Normal?? 3rd it looks as if the seal on the sprocket side of the engine is in backwards...now I'm small engine Mechanic on a golf course and have never seen a motor seal flat side in. I can post some pictures for ya'll to see if I can figure out how .... any input would be appreciated.  oh forgot to mention that when I cracked her open I noticed that there were .010 over pistons in it so I know its been wrenched on before.

JW113

No valve guide seals is not good. However when I pulled the heads on my bike, all of them were popped off the valve guides. It basically means more oil consumption.

I think the oil port holes are in the side of the cylinders, near the bottom. Not in the crankcase/cylinder interface.

Lots of controversy on the sprocket shaft seal. Some say flat side in, some say flat side out. And some say if it is the kind with a spring (which I think they all are these days), it makes no difference either way. The reason it would be flat side in so's to make it harder for the engine to suck oil into the crankcase from the primary. And who cares if engine oil gets blown out into the primary, stock set up has it being pumped in there anyway. I have a belt drive, so have the seal with flat side out to keep engine oil out of the primary. It works. Sort of...