May 02, 2024, 05:10:45 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Inner Primary Issue....

Started by JamLazyAss, March 20, 2016, 08:00:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

I'm trying to put my (tin) inner primary on the pan.
It appears to be binding up on what I call the oil slinger that's against the tranny sprocket.
You guys have any idea what might be going on here?
This should be a no brainer, but.

Also, doesn't the primary mount to the outside of the oil tank bracket?
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

CraigArizona85248

I didn't think the panhead ever had a slinger on the drive sprocket. Your tin primary probably won't work with one.

Yes, primary mounts outside of oil tank bracket.

-craig

JamLazyAss

Quote from: CraigArizona85248 on March 20, 2016, 08:56:41 PM
I didn't think the panhead ever had a slinger on the drive sprocket. Your tin primary probably won't work with one.

-craig
If that's the case, it's easy enough to remove.  :up:

HogMike

-craig

My 54 had the oil slinger on the drive sprocket, also had one on my '38 ULH. They may have stopped using them on the later pans. I don't remember what I had on the '56 with the smooth primary :nix:
Depending on the year pan, you may want to use the spring and bolt assembly when hooking up the oil tank tab with the chain guard and primary tins to keep from busting off the mounting tabs.
This was a common issue for those who just put a bolt and nut through the holes and snugged it tight.
:missed:
HOGMIKE
SoCal

JamLazyAss

Quote from: HOGMIKE on March 21, 2016, 07:44:24 AM

-craig

My 54 had the oil slinger on the drive sprocket, also had one on my '38 ULH. They may have stopped using them on the later pans. I don't remember what I had on the '56 with the smooth primary :nix: