April 30, 2024, 12:52:24 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

'98 Sportster w/ 1200 kit (Loud Knocking)

Started by HotfuzzMurphy, October 01, 2016, 09:40:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

HotfuzzMurphy

Just bought this '98 Sportster and it was riding very well once I got rid of the Autolite spark plugs and replaced them with Champions. 
Later that evening cruising across a bridge it just suddenly started knocking very loud, gave me a little shake and died. 
It starts up still easily but the knock is very loud and doesn't sound very good at all.
Narrowed down the sound ish.  Maybe a rod?  cam?  valve?
It's my first bike, and I'm not an expert.  Any thoughts?

HotfuzzMurphy

Found out it has adjustable push rods.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

HotfuzzMurphy

Quote from: HotfuzzMurphy on October 01, 2016, 09:40:12 AM
Just bought this '98 Sportster and it was riding very well once I got rid of the Autolite spark plugs and replaced them with Champions. 
Later that evening cruising across a bridge it just suddenly started knocking very loud, gave me a little shake and died. 
It starts up still easily but the knock is very loud and doesn't sound very good at all.
Narrowed down the sound ish.  Maybe a rod?  cam?  valve?
It's my first bike, and I'm not an expert.  Any thoughts?
Found out it has adjustable push rods

Panzer

Murph, just wondering, is it a 1200 or an 883?
With the bike at idle, does it still bang?
Can you see if the noise is coming from the front of the engine or back.
Have you checked it over for oil levels in all three places?   (That should have been done first)

Need some answers before we can help further.  >>> Standing by for your response!

Panz
Everyone wants to change the world but, no one wants to change the toilet paper.

HotfuzzMurphy

Oil levels were fine.
The noise was coming from the front.