May 03, 2024, 12:12:29 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

SE Adjustable Ignition 32704-01 (timing help needed)

Started by mayor, April 22, 2009, 07:32:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mayor

I'm pretty new to adjustable timing.  I'm not real sure how to look at a map and know what it all means, but I figured it's about time to learn.  The bike is a Dyna chassis so I decided to go with the SE adjustable ignition.  That ignition has four maps and each map can be advanced and retarded.  Here's the maps:

I'm running the second curve since it's listed as the most like the SE -5 module that seems to be working well on my other similar build bike. I wanted to better understand the differences between the curves and spark advance/retard so I made some tables on how I was interpreting how the advance and retard worked.   I left curve 2 as is with no advance, and retarded curve 1 to be close at WOT (-2) and advanced curve 3 to be close at WOT (+4).  I limited my charts to 6k since my rev limit was set at that. 

ok, here's the questions:

am I interpreting correctly how the advance/retard works?

how do I know when the idle timing is the best for the particular build?

how do I know when the decel timing is best for a particular build?

my -5 module bike runs about 15 degrees cooler when checked with an infrared temp gun compared to this bike after the exact same riding conditions.  the builds aren't the same, but very similar.  I'm assuming timing may be part of the reason for the temp differences since afr's are very similar.  So, does this mean this build is retarded too much in the cruise/medium throttle ranges?
warning, this poster suffers from bizarre delusions

Sonny S.

mayor

well Sonny, looks like not many carb folks around any more.   :emsad:  I think I'm on the right track, we'll see.

warning, this poster suffers from bizarre delusions

ViennaHog