April 26, 2024, 06:18:47 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

New to me 2013 Switchback FLD

Started by dubepj, June 05, 2019, 04:48:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dubepj

Just got this bike with only 7800 miles on it. Bike has a Vance& Hines slip on muffler and a high flow air cleaner. In the saddlebag there was Vance & Hines Fuelpak tuner. I'm assuming that it was hooked up to tune the bike after the muffler and air cleaner were installed. Was told all this done at a dealership.
I believe that the cat is still in the head pipe.
If I drill out the cat will there be good or bad repercussions.
Just hoping to cut down some heat.
Thanks.

jelildude

Good repercussions, but may need to autotune your map again.

dubepj

thanks jelildude for your answer.  I'm new to fuel injected bikes.  I've owned lots of carbed bikes but now this is a new game for me. the fuel pack instructions says I have to hook up through Blue tooth to my cell phone.  Can't  i just plug this into the bike and it will do it's thing without all the BS of going through my cell phone.  Thanks

dubepj

One more question about gutting my CC.  Could I just drill a large hole (about 1 1/2 in.) through center of the cat guts.  If there is some guts remaining what will it hurt?  Thanks everyone.

Chippitt68

I considered that when I wanted to do mine. I cut a 'door' around the cat and cleaned it all out. Paid $30 to have it welded back on. I used an angle grinder with a thin blade. The less metal you remove, the less welding.

PoorUB

I have done a couple cat removals. My preferred way to to scribe a couple horizontal lines in the exhaust to locate the two halves later, then sawz-all the head pipe in two pieces, front to back. Rip out the old cat and weld the two halves of the head pipe back to gather.

But, yes, it should be re-tuned.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!