eBay and the dreaded PayPal requirement . . .

Started by JamLazyAss, November 25, 2008, 07:17:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

When selling an item on eBay, is there a way to accept money order's instead of PayPal?
I don't like using PayPal, and never did. But that's not the point here.
Must I accept it when selling, or is there a way around it?
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

Paniolo

I put in my listings, "Contact the seller for other payment options". Then when you get an interested buyer who contacts you, you can tell them Personal Check, Money Orders, Cashiers Check, Cash, or whatever. I also put in "Paypal users must contact the seller first". Then when they do, I tell them that I am adding 2% (or whatever the fee is) on top of the price to make up for what Paypal takes out. This may incline them to use another form of payment.

Good Luck.
Life can only be lived in the present moment.

HV

I use E Bay a lot... and using Pay Pal is the easiest way to get Paid..it works well and 90% of buyers have it .. Its like Complaining about the MOCO .. you don't like them ... but it works ..the cost of using it is off set by the convenience to your buyers ..
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

JamLazyAss

HV,

How do I even know if I got paid?
Do I keep checking my account balance?
Probably not, but obviously I don't know the process.
Can you help to explain it?
I did list an item and I'm not at all familiar with this.
Thanks.

fulldress79

I quit my eBay account after 4 yrs because of this.I wanted to pay by money order.I'm sure others wished to keep it that way.I wonder how many sales this has discouraged.I wonder if the fees from Paypal have offset the revenue from the commisions on sales that have dropped off, especially in a tough economy.I think its a case of bad timing.

4DWUDS

What gets me is E-Bay owns Pay Pal, They get paid coming and going. What a racket.