April 30, 2024, 11:15:45 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

RoadKing Woe's

Started by JamLazyAss, November 28, 2008, 09:45:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

I ride a Roadking but have had a problem since day one.
It seems to have a very high center of gravity.
I'm about 5' 10" or 11".
I'm fine when riding alone, BUT with the touring seat on and my wife aboard the problem arrises.
Whenever I come to a stop, the bike feels like it wants to flop over. I feel like a midget.
Anyone else ever experience anything like this?
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

05RK1

YES!!!!  I ride a 2005 rk classic and have the sme problem.  I'm 5'6" so it is more prevailant for me.  I solved the problem by getting my wife licensed and her own bike.

starrider

Just a guess....might be in the way you are braking to a stop. i use both brakes 70 front 30 back generally until i come to a stop...then i feather off with the rear brake only from anywhere from 30 mph on down...depending on how fast you are comming to a stop.

inotherwords (imho) i find that if i use the front brake in stopping...and you have the bars slightly turned...it may bring you down...hence feather off with the rear only when comming to stop...(imo).

In panic stopping ...a different senario may be used...

ironhead19732

Yes I know what your talking about !!! I'm 5'9 and since 1959 Have owned
only Harley sportsters, well 2 years ago I traded my 1950 Olds for a 2002
Honda Shadow cruiser and the passenger seat is about a foot higher than
my seat. A month ago took my wife for a ride on it , turned into a
gravel driveway didn't see the pot hole and we did indeed flop over !!!
going to stick with my sportster, Oh and also caught hell from my wife   

deltafarmer

Stay off the front brake at slow speeds, especially when in a turn, NO MATTER HOW SLIGHT11

harleyjt