May 08, 2024, 02:54:04 AM

News:

I'm new to this Sportster stuff...

Started by stro1965, March 08, 2009, 12:19:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stro1965

March 08, 2009, 12:19:17 PM Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 12:22:43 PM by stro1965
Brought a 2009 XL1200L home for mama yesterday.  She says she's not gonna need a lot of things changed (yeah, right).  We swapped the seat for an HD reach seat that is much more comfy, even for me.  And I attached the windshield a few minutes ago.  Wondering about simple stuff like...

Is the Sporty, like my Ultra, going to run hot in it's stock condition? 

Will the ECM make adjustments for simple changes like slip-ons?  Or do I need to look at a download or power commander?  She isn't interested in more power (yet), so the airbox will probably remain stock.

My size 12 boots barely fit in between the footpeg and the shift lever (mid-controls for now until she gets more comfortable with the bike), seems like a really short lever, is a longer lever available?  Even she has trouble getting under the lever with average sized feet.

Finally, is there any way to make that stiff clutch pull a little easier for her?

96FLSTF

Hey Stro,
Not sure if they are the same as my wife's 05, but check how the bars / risers are attached to the upper clamp. If like our 05 there is no isolator bushings between the clamp & risers. It will make a WORLD of difference adding the bushings. On longer trips she'll thank you for it.

Gene
05 95" FLHRSI
96 FLSTF ("Street Stalker")

stro1965

Quote from: 96FLSTF on March 08, 2009, 12:47:08 PM
Hey Stro,
Not sure if they are the same as my wife's 05, but check how the bars / risers are attached to the upper clamp. If like our 05 there is no isolator bushings between the clamp & risers. It will make a WORLD of difference adding the bushings. On longer trips she'll thank you for it.

Gene

Thanks Gene, just checked, no bushings.  Do you remember the part number or where you found them?

Hossamania