May 09, 2024, 10:09:41 AM

News:

Need some insight from experienced riders

Started by 2011FXDC, March 24, 2012, 05:03:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2011FXDC

I have been riding for about 15 years off and on and have been through two MSF courses. First was several years ago and then again last year to support the wife during her first class. Our (police) drivers training already taught me about looking where you want to go, which is huge. I always try to improve my riding and work on taking hard bends outside/inside/outside. I don't ride very aggressively and really focus on being smooth but I do push it sometimes. I consider myself a decent rider but something happened the other day that caught me off guard.

On a back country road, I was taking a hard 90 degree right hander and started scraping the peg which is nothing new. Then it felt like the peg kind of dug in and the rear tire lifted a little. It squirmed a bit and fortunately I didn't panic and pulled right through it. So what did I do wrong, take the bend too fast ? Maybe I pushed the limits of my Dyna too far..?  I recently changed my pegs back from chrome Harley pegs to the stock rubber ones. The chrome pegs were worn pretty good from scraping and I'm wondering if the rubber ones just dig in more instead of scraping.

Thanks for any advice or ideas.. I'm always ready to learn.     

Grumpy : (

The peg might have caught a seam in the street, something to watch for.  Good you rode through it.

You did probably lean a bit further than needed and that caused the problem.  I do the same thing sometimes, but floorboards are way more forgiving.  They slide or fold up rather than catch.

Make the Day Yours!
Ormond Beach, FL

NETacomaFatboy

you may not have done anything wrong.  It happens when one scrapes.   I would shoot to scrape at slightly faster corners and not tight/slow corners...

Evo160K